Minnesota Statute 609.324 Defines penalties for PATRONS of prostitutes or “Johns.”
Under this section, anyone who engages in prostitution with someone over the age of 18 or ”hires, offers to hire, or agrees to hire an individual 18 years of age or older to engage in sexual penetration or sexual contact.” Is guilty of a misdemeanor, must pay a fine of at least $500, and is subject to imprisonment of not more than 90 days. This offense is enhanceable, and a second offense within 2 years of conviction for solicitation is punishable as a gross misdemeanor, with potential imprisonment of one year, and a fine of not less than $1,500.
Additionally, a first time offense can be charged as a gross misdemeanor if the prostitution is in a “public place,” with potential imprisonment of one year, and a fine of not less than $1,500. Importantly in Minnesota a hotel room is defined as a “public place.”
Police departments are actively engaging in sting operations to recruit potential “johns” from websites like Backpage and Craigslist. In these situations, you may have a potential entrapment defense.
This is a serious charge with serious implications.
“I understand that people make mistakes that they later regret. I also understand that people are wrongfully accused, and may have the defense of self defense. Give yourself a chance to fight these charges and not have them follow you around for years, or for the rest of your life. Contact me today to discuss your options, and possible defenses.”
DO YOU NEED JUSTICE?
Get in contact today.