Minnesota Statute 609.222 Defines ASSAULT IN THE SECOND DEGREE.
Assault in the second degree is assault with a dangerous weapon, or assault with a dangerous weapon that causes substantial bodily harm. In Minnesota there is no hard and fast definition for “dangerous weapon,” but common examples include a knife, a gun, or a car. However, other objects can be seen by the Court as a dangerous weapon.
“Substantial bodily harm” means bodily injury which involves a temporary but substantial disfigurement, or which causes a temporary but substantial loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ, or which causes a fracture of any bodily member.
The potential penalty for assault with a dangerous weapon is imprisonment for 14 years and/or a fine of $14,000. The potential penalty for assault with a dangerous weapon that causes substantial bodily harm is ten years imprisonment and/or a $20,000 fine.
It is important that you assert your right to an attorney, and your right to remain silent if you are accused of this serious crime.
This is a serious charge with serious implications, and mandatory minimum sentences.
“It is important to take these types of charges seriously, because they can affect both your home and your working life. If you plead guilty, you may later regret it. Contact me today to discuss your options, and possible defenses. I understand that people can get in arguments, overreact, and make mistakes that they later regret. I also understand that people are wrongfully accused, and may have the defense of self defense. Give yourself a chance to fight these charges and not have them follow you around for years, or for the rest of your life.”
DO YOU NEED JUSTICE?
Get in contact today.